Travelling to United Kingdom? Read all updated requirements before you book.
The Guards Hotel
The Guards Hotel
The Guards Hotel
The Guards Hotel
The Guards Hotel
The Guards Hotel
The Guards Hotel

Removed from saved list

7.4

Very good

36 reviews

36 reviews

See map

8.4

Excellent

Location rating score

Excellent location - 690 meters from city center
Exceptional for walking
Walkable places
Vietnam House Art Gallery

180 m

St. Mary's Cathedral

260 m

Cuba Norte

310 m

Haymarket Train Station

110 m

Haymarket Tram Station

180 m

Popular landmarks
Edinburgh Castle

1.1 km

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions

1.4 km

Royal Mile Street

1.4 km

National Museum of Scotland

1.7 km

The Real Mary King's Close

1.7 km

Closest landmarks
Leonardo Hotel

240 m

Stuart Steven Dentist

250 m

Denta Care

290 m

Consulate General of Russia

310 m

West End Medical Practice

320 m

The Guards Hotel

1 Clifton Terrace, Haymarket, Edinburgh, United Kingdom, EH12 5DR - See map

Get your trip off to a great start with a stay at this property, which offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms. Conveniently situated in the Haymarket part of Edinburgh, this property puts you close to attractions and interesting dining options. Don't leave before paying a visit to the famous Edinburgh Castle. This 3-star property is packed with in-house facilities to improve the quality and joy of your stay.

Show more

Highlights

120 meters to public transportation

Excellent room comfort & quality

990 meters to Princes Street Gardens

Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

Daily housekeeping

Facilities

Pets allowed

Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

Cash withdrawal

Golf course [on-site]

Shops

Coffee shop

Bar

Room service

Your dates are popular among travelersUsers are booking a place in Edinburgh every 14 minutes on Agoda.com
Value for money7.2
Location rating8.4
Nearest airportEdinburgh Airport (EDI)
Distance to airport9.0 km

Rooms available at The Guards Hotel

Excellent
Room comfort & quality

9

Suite
...
  • Room size: 13 m²/140 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Classic Double Room
...
  • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Triple Room
...
  • Non-smoking
  • Shower and bathtub
  • 3 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Double or Twin
...
  • Garden view
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 double bed or 2 single be...
Enter dates to see prices
Twin Room with Private Bathroom
...
  • Street view
  • Non-smoking
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Luxury Double Room
...
  • Room size: 13 m²/140 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Single Room with Private External Bathroom
...
  • Garden view
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 single bed
Enter dates to see prices
Single Standard
...
  • No Windows view
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 semi double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Twin Room
...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Twin Room
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices

      Frequently asked questions

      What time is check-in and check-out at The Guards Hotel?

      Check-in is from 02:00 PM, and check-out is until 10:00 AM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee.

      How do I get to The Guards Hotel?

      Parking is available for an additional charge.

      What is the smoking policy at The Guards Hotel?

      The Guards Hotel does not permit smoking in any of its rooms or indoor areas.

      What is the closest train, metro, or bus station to The Guards Hotel?

      The closest train, metro, or bus station to The Guards Hotel is Haymarket Train Station, 110 m away.

      What restaurants are nearby The Guards Hotel?

      The Guards Hotel’s neighborhood is Haymarket which includes popular restaurants such as Platform 5, Ghillie Dhu and The Huxley.

      What popular shopping places are close to The Guards Hotel?

      The Guards Hotel is located in Haymarket area which features shopping places such as Vietnam House Art Gallery, West End Village and RIAS Gallery.

      What are popular attractions near The Guards Hotel?

      The Guards Hotel’s location in the Haymarket neighborhood makes it close to famous attractions including Dean Village, St. Mary's Cathedral and St George's West Church.

      What popular natural sightseeing spots are close to The Guards Hotel?

      The Guards Hotel’s nearby natural sights include The Cauldron located in the same Haymarket area.

      Show more questions
      See map

      Explore the neighborhood

      What people love about The Guards Hotel

      • 9.2

        Exceptional
        Cleanliness

        "The room was clean and they even provided biscuits for our morning coffee!"

        Laurie

        |

        April 25, 2022

      • 9.2

        Exceptional

        "I would go back and I would recommend the place as well!"

        Laurie

        |

        April 25, 2022

      • 9.6

        Exceptional

        "This hotel is a good budget choice for Edinburgh, where most of the hotel rates border on extortion."

        Kenneth

        |

        May 20, 2019

      Property ranking|Compared to 1,502 Edinburgh properties
      See all rankings
      Room comfort score
      9/10
      Location score
      8.4/10
      Service score
      8.2/10
      Cleanliness score
      7.4/10
      Better than
      99
      %
      of Edinburgh properties
      Better than
      93
      %
      of Edinburgh properties
      Better than
      93
      %
      of Edinburgh properties
      Better than
      91
      %
      of Edinburgh properties
      Overall rating:

      7.4

      Very good
      36 reviews
      Cleanliness
      7.4
      Facilities
      5.8
      Location
      8.4
      Read all reviews >
      More about The Guards Hotel

      More about The Guards Hotel

      The Guards Hotel

      The Guards Hotel is a distinct addition to Edinburgh and a smart choice for travelers. This hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions, conveniently located for travelers to explore.
      The Guards Hotel provides a range services and amenities to help make your stay more comfortable. Never be out of touch with your contacts, with free Wi-Fi offered throughout your stay. If you plan to arrive by car, you'll appreciate the hotel's available parking, right on-site. If you need, the ticket service and tours can even help you book tickets and reservations at all the best shows and programs nearby.
      For lazy days and nights, in-room conveniences like daily housekeeping let you make the most of your room. Please be advised that smoking is not allowed in the hotel to allow cleaner air for all guests.
      Feel right at home during your stay at The Guards Hotel. Some rooms at The Guards Hotel are equipped with blackout curtains for your convenience. In-room entertainment such as television, is provided for guests in select rooms. The hotel also offers a coffee or tea maker, instant coffee and instant tea in some rooms for when you feel like it is needed.
      Knowing that bathroom amenities play an important role in increasing guests' satisfaction, the hotel provides a hair dryer, bathrobes and towels in some select rooms.


      The Guards Hotel

      The Guards Hotel is a distinct addition to Edinburgh and a smart choice for travelers. This hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions, conveniently located for travelers to explore.
      The Guards Hotel provides a range services and amenities to help make your stay more comfortable. Never be out of touch with your contacts, with free Wi-Fi offered throughout your stay. If you plan to arrive by car, you'll appreciate the hotel's available parking, right on-site. If you need, the ticket service and tours can even help you book tickets and reservations at all the best shows and programs nearby.
      For lazy days and nights, in-room conveniences like daily housekeeping let you make the most of your room. Please be advised that smoking is not allowed in the hotel to allow cleaner air for all guests.
      Feel right at home during your stay at The Guards Hotel. Some rooms at The Guards Hotel are equipped with blackout curtains for your convenience. In-room entertainment such as television, is provided for guests in select rooms. The hotel also offers a coffee or tea maker, instant coffee and instant tea in some rooms for when you feel like it is needed.
      Knowing that bathroom amenities play an important role in increasing guests' satisfaction, the hotel provides a hair dryer, bathrobes and towels in some select rooms.


      Dining and things to do

      Everyone loves a good cup of coffee! A coffee shop on-site means you can enjoy a cup of real, freshly brewed coffee every morning -- or anytime you feel like it. A night in at the hotel's bar can be as fun as a night out with your travel companions.
      Never let a day go wasted when you're at The Guards Hotel with all the activities and facilities provided. Have some easy fun without traveling far, while playing golf course on site at The Guards Hotel. Pick up something memorable for yourself or those waiting for you back at home, at the shops.


      Around the property

      Take advantage of the opportunity to explore Edinburgh while in the city. An afternoon of browsing the works at Royal Yacht Britannia located 4.7 km away can familiarize you with the local art scene. The most popular local attraction is probably Arthur's Seat only 3.4 km away.


      Reasons to stay here

      Rooms don't get much cheaper than here, being less than 97% of the city's accommodation.
      Know you'll get excellent dining options here, where past guests have rated onsite or nearby dining above 98% of the city's accommodation.
      It's hard to beat the room comfort here, which is rated higher than 99% of other accommodations in Edinburgh.

      Amenities and facilities
      Review score
      Facilities

      5.8

      Languages spoken

      • English

      Internet access

      • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!
      • Internet services
      • Wi-Fi in public areas

      Things to do, ways to relax

      • Golf course [on-site]
      • Ticket services
      • Tours

      Cleanliness and safety

      • Cashless payment service
      • Daily disinfection in all rooms
      • Daily disinfection in common areas
      • Face coverings on staff
      • Free face masks
      • Physical distancing of at least 1 meter

      Dining, drinking, and snacking

      • Bar
      • Coffee shop
      • Kitchen
      • Room service

      Services and conveniences

      • Cash withdrawal
      • Daily housekeeping
      • Elevator
      • Facilities for disabled guests
      • Heating in public area
      • Shops
      • Smoke-free property
      • Smoking area

      For the kids

      • Family room

      Land sports

      • Golf course (within 3 km)

      Access

      • CCTV in common areas
      • CCTV outside property
      • Dog-friendly
      • Fire extinguisher
      • Non-smoking rooms
      • Pets allowed
      • Security [24-hour]
      • Smoke alarms

      Getting around

      • Car park [charges apply]

      Available in all rooms

      • Alarm clock
      • Closet
      • Coffee/tea maker
      • Free bottled water
      • Hair dryer
      • Heating
      • Ironing facilities
      • Non-smoking
      • Private bathroom
      • Shower
      • Toiletries
      • TV [flat screen]
      Location
      1 Clifton Terrace, Haymarket, Edinburgh, United Kingdom, EH12 5DR
      Excellent
      Location

      8.4

      Airports

      • Edinburgh Airport (EDI)
        9.0 km
      • Perth Airport (PSL)
        55.3 km

      Public transportation

      • Haymarket Train Station
        110 m
      • Haymarket Tram Station
        180 m

      Hospital or clinic

      • Stuart Steven Dentist
        250 m

      Shopping

      • Ocean Terminal
        4.5 km

      Convenience store

      • Tesco Express
        330 m

      Cash withdrawal

      • ATM on-site
      What's nearby

      Popular landmarks

      • Edinburgh Castle
        1.1 km
      • Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
        1.4 km
      • Royal Mile Street
        1.4 km
      • National Museum of Scotland
        1.7 km
      • The Real Mary King's Close
        1.7 km
      • Edinburgh Old Town
        1.7 km
      • Calton Hill
        2.3 km
      • Palace of Holyroodhouse
        2.9 km
      • Arthur's Seat
        3.4 km
      • Royal Yacht Britannia
        4.7 km

      Nearby landmarks

      • Haymarket Train Station
        110 m
      • Haymarket Tram Station
        180 m
      • Vietnam House Art Gallery
        180 m
      • Leonardo Hotel
        240 m
      • Stuart Steven Dentist
        250 m
      • St. Mary's Cathedral
        260 m
      • Denta Care
        290 m
      • Cuba Norte
        310 m
      • Consulate General of Russia
        310 m
      • West End Medical Practice
        320 m
      Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
      Property policies
      Children and extra beds

      Extra beds are dependent on the room you choose. Please check the individual room capacity for more details.

      All children are welcome.

      Infant 0-3 year(s)
      Stay for free if using existing bedding.
      Baby cot/crib may be requested directly from the property.
      Children 4-5 year(s)
      Stay for free if using existing bedding.
      If you need an extra bed, it will incur an additional charge.
      Guests 6 years and older are considered as adults
      Must use an extra bed which will incur an additional charge.
      Others
      • Check-in after 10:30 PM will be subject to an additional charge of GBP 10 per hour and is at the property's discretion.
      • Check-in will not be accepted after 01:30 AM unless there are exceptional circumstances.
      • When booking more than 5 rooms, different policies and additional supplements may apply.
      Some helpful facts

      Check-in/Check-out

      • Check-in from14:00
      • Check-in until22:00
      • Check-out until10:00
      • Reception open until22:00

      The property

      • Non-smoking rooms/floorsyes
      • Number of bars/lounges1
      • Number of rooms 10

      Reviews of The Guards Hotel from real guests

      Provided by verified guests of Agoda
      7.4
      /
      10
      Very good
      Cleanliness7.4
      Facilities5.8
      Location8.4
      Room comfort and quality9.0
      Service8.2
      Value for money7.2
      High score for Edinburgh
      Rating
      9+ Exceptional (6)
      8-9 Excellent (0)
      7-8 Very Good (3)
      6-7 Good (3)
      <6 Below Expectation (8)
      Time of the year
      Mar - May (6)
      Jun - Aug (6)
      Sep - Nov (7)
      Dec - Feb (1)
      All guests (36)
      All room types
      All languages

      Show reviews that mention 

      Showing 20 verified guest comments
      9.6
      Exceptional
      Lawrence from United Kingdom
      Business traveler
      Classic Double Room
      Stayed 1 night in July 2018

      Budget Hotel in Prime Loaction”

      Fantastic accommodation for the price. Ideally located immediately adjacent Haymarket train station, airport tram & bus links, and local bars and restaurants. The adjoining Guards Club bar has limited choice, but has lots of Guards history and friendly staff so it's worth a visit. Having arrived by train it was a perfect overnight stop before continuing my journey the next day. It's worth noting that the reception is not 24hrs, so if you're arriving very late or very early you may need to work this out in advance with the hotel.

      Reviewed July 31, 2018

      See room deals

      10.0
      Exceptional
      Emma from United Kingdom
      Solo traveler
      Suite
      Stayed 1 night in September 2017

      Fantastic stay in the windsor suite”

      We stayed for one night in the fabulous windsor suite. It was spotless and very comfortable. Very central and 2 minutes away from haymarket station. The only thing I would say is ypu may need earplugs as it is on a main road.

      Reviewed September 17, 2017

      See room deals

      9.6
      Exceptional
      Kenneth from United States
      Solo traveler
      Single Room with Private External Bathroom
      Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

      Exceptional”

      This hotel is a good budget choice for Edinburgh, where most of the hotel rates border on extortion.

      Reviewed May 20, 2019

      See room deals

      10.0
      Exceptional
      Jourdan from Canada
      Couple
      Double or Twin
      Stayed 1 night in May 2016

      Great Place!”

      This was perfect for what we were looking for! It was a quick 15 min walk into Edinburgh's old town and even closer to the new town. Massive room, friendly staff, and good price - couldn't have asked for better!

      Reviewed May 17, 2016

      See room deals

      7.2
      Very good
      Thomas from United Kingdom
      Couple
      Classic Double Room
      Stayed 1 night in October 2018

      Very good”

      Read some bad reviews about the hotel but our room, although very small was scrupulously clean. Bathroom was actually a wet room but looked new. Excellent shower and hair and body wash supplied. Lots of tea and coffee supplied. Although the door was closed when we arrived, it was answered when we rang the bell and were able to leave our bag which had been delivered to our room when we arrived. Due to the size of our room, would not want to stay for more than one or two days but there may be larger rooms available and if they are all as clean as ours was, would have no problem recommending the hotel. Staff friendly and helpful.

      Reviewed October 15, 2018

      See room deals

      5.6
      TENGHUI from Taiwan
      Solo traveler
      Single Room with Private External Bathroom
      Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

      Cheap Hotel in Cheap Conditions”

      The hotel is just around less than 3 mins walk away from Haymarket Station, which is quite convenient for travelers who expect to locate a great lodging spot in Edinburgh centre. That this hotel doesn't provide breakfast, however, already decreased half its value. While I stayed in this hotel, to my great dismay, the I was assigned to seemed totally unattended for. The wood on floor looked shamble and the track on which the curtain moved seemed even more abysmal by any standard. I sincerely advise the hotel staff that you should do some refurbishment before you go on business with this condition.

      Reviewed January 03, 2018

      See room deals

      6.4
      Good
      John from United Kingdom
      Business traveler
      Suite
      Stayed 2 nights in August 2017

      Great location, but maybe too great?!”

      Surprised by the space and convenient location of the Guards Hotel. The room was comfortable with large windows. Sound proofing is not a strong point if you're light sleeper. Fortunately, I was shattered so did manage to get some shut-eye, but external sound resistance was poor. I'd go back for a night but anything longer would require earmuffs. Improvements I'd like to see include more efficient window dressing to shut out the light from long summer nights and, of course, a little more soundproofing.

      Reviewed August 14, 2017

      See room deals

      6.8
      Good
      Shirley from United Kingdom
      Solo traveler
      Classic Double Room
      Stayed 1 night in October 2017

      Ok but room needs a make over.”

      Good location. Handy for tram to the airport. Nice comfy bed and clean bedding. Bathroom bit difficult to negotiate but plenty hot water from shower. Not happy about there being no way of securing door from 8nsidr. A bit disconcerting that the yale lock was hanging off the door. I really did not feel safe. Had to move the chest if drawers over to block the door in case of intruders. Even a door chain would have been good.

      Reviewed October 19, 2017

      See room deals

      4.4
      Ellen from United Kingdom
      Solo traveler
      Luxury Double Room
      Stayed 1 night in September 2018

      Really past it’s prine and dirty”

      There were a lot of of problems with this hotel. the room was dirty. Two of the pillows were stained and black and one was ripped. The pillow cases hid this until one came off. The pillows were also flat and hard. The bed had a bar in the middle and sagged on both sides. The couch and chair were stained from years of use. The brutal nds were the same and threadbare. Secondly, the bathroom was awful. The toliet seat was loose. Not only was I not able to sit forward on the seat because my knees hit the wall, but I kept sliding around because the seat was about to fall off. The toliet roll holder was rusting and was behind me when I sat on the toilet so I had to do a yoga pose to try and find it.. The toliet handle was loose. The lid on the trash can was broken from it’s hinge and I just took the lid off. There was mold on the edges of the shower. The clerk who checked me in was really nice and helpful. He fixed my broken bathroom vanity light.

      Reviewed September 21, 2018

      See room deals

      Good afternoon Ellen, We're sorry you were disappointed with the room however I must take issue with it being dirty, it isn't and cleanliness is something we take pride in and which is always remarked positively on. All pillows have either recently been replaced or are in the process of being replaced. Your remarks on the bed are contrary to those which we normally hear. It is a very large clean comfortable room for whom most have no problems with and no complaint, having just checked the toilet seat it does not move at all. I would consider having realistic expecations of what £71.00 gets you in a hotel in the future. Kind regards, Scott McCabe Manager

      Responded September 22, 2018
      The Guards Hotel
      5.2
      Tom from United Kingdom
      Business traveler
      Single Room with Private External Bathroom
      Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

      Nice person at reception - That is where the good things end.”

      The booking site does not indicate that the room is a shared bathroom if you wold like to experience what it would be like to stay in a squat, this would be the room to book. Old broken bed stained floors and walls rotting Windows the lot. Being fair , the sheets were clean and cleans towells each day.

      Reviewed September 28, 2018

      See room deals

      Hi Tom, We're sorry you feel that way however will not accept the room being compared to a squat. There is an old wooden floor yes but it is cleaned daily and is not dirty, there are old woodened frame windows but neither they or the walls are rotting. Whilst the single room you were in is not en suite you do have your own private bathroom which you are given a key for and which is situated next to the room. I would bear in mind you paid £83.52 for 3 three nights stay in a hotel and think about what to expect for that. Kind regards, Scott McCabe Manager

      Responded September 28, 2018
      The Guards Hotel
      5.6
      Kevin from United States
      Solo traveler
      Single Room with Private External Bathroom
      Stayed 1 night in May 2017

      Worst bed ever”

      I sat on the bed and was immediately swallowed into the middle of it. It was like it was a water bed except it wasn't. The shower also had zero water pressure.

      Reviewed May 03, 2017

      See room deals

      4.8
      Suranee from Thailand
      Couple
      Classic Double Room
      Stayed 1 night in August 2016

      Location, Not comportable”

      Location great, Not comportable Not fair price., staffs didn't really helpful.

      Reviewed August 31, 2016

      See room deals

      3.2
      Joekarl from Australia
      Solo traveler
      Single Room with Private External Bathroom
      Stayed 1 night in July 2016

      Very simple and basic”

      If you're after just basic accommodation to crash at night then this is the place. Otherwise, the carpet at the entrance smelled as soon as I entered then the smell continued into my room. The room I was given did not have a window so I had to keep the exhaust running all the time. Also during check-in the receptionist was in a rush, which I didn't like.

      Reviewed July 25, 2016

      See room deals

      5.6
      James from United Kingdom
      Business traveler
      Triple Room
      Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

      Needs some TLC”

      a bit run down and awful shower.

      Reviewed May 04, 2018

      See room deals

      6.4
      Good
      Roger from United Kingdom
      Solo traveler
      Single Room with Private External Bathroom
      Stayed 1 night in June 2022

      Needs a major facelift - pronto”

      Room clean. Bed OK - though a bit too soft for me. Very spartan: no carpet, no curtains, no bedside lamp - floorboards had gaps between them, decoration very shabby. Proprieter said he tried to have it decorated last year

      Reviewed July 01, 2022

      See room deals

      9.2
      Exceptional
      Laurie from United States
      Family with teens
      Triple Room
      Stayed 1 night in April 2022

      A little off the beaten path”

      Though it was literally right outside all public transportation and if it wasn't so cold I wouldn't have minded the walk into City Centre so really not a big deal. They were very very nice, very accommodating. There were three of us and we each had our own bed, sets of towels, and soap. The room was clean and they even provided biscuits for our morning coffee! Additionally they brought our bags up while we were out walking around which might not sound like a big deal, but it was a lot of stairs and I didn't see a lift!! The shower could've used a bit of a boost with respect to water pressure. My daughter and I both have long hair so it was difficult to wash and rinse fully with the shower as it was, but we made due. I would go back and I would recommend the place as well!

      Reviewed April 25, 2022

      See room deals

      4.4
      Shamina from United Kingdom
      Couple
      Classic Double Room
      Stayed 1 night in October 2021

      Acceptable”

      The staff in this hotel was very friendly and was nice working on his own sadly felt bad for him , the bath when we went in had small flys . There was a leak in the bathroom and damp in the room , the radiator was awful had dust , room needs updating and a good clean , we where only staying one night so my husband didn’t want to make a fuss , plus point not far from Edinburgh just 2 tram stops takes a few minutes would I stay again most likely no unless it was updated and cleaned well .

      Reviewed October 25, 2021

      See room deals

      8.0
      Excellent
      anthony from Australia
      Solo traveler
      Single Room with Private External Bathroom
      Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

      real Scottish experience”

      great breakfast, good location, authentic experience
      Reviewed August 05, 2014

      See room deals

      7.6
      Very good
      Dominik from Germany
      Solo traveler
      Single Room with Private External Bathroom
      Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

      zu empfehlen”

      Gut gelegen, zur Übernachtung absolut ausreichend für einen Städtetrip oder ähnliches. Preis/Leistung sehr gut.

      Reviewed October 16, 2016

      See room deals

      9.3
      Exceptional
      MATTEO from Italy
      Couple
      Classic Double Room
      Stayed 1 night in May 2015

      Ottimo staff”

      Albergo pulito. Staff gentilissimo e molto disponibile. Ottimo prezzo.
      Reviewed May 25, 2015

      See room deals

      This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

      Back to search results

      Back to room choices

      |

      Dismiss